Congratulations and Welcome to Mayor Todd Gloria

Congratulations to San Diego Mayor Todd Gloria, who took office this past Thursday as San Diego’s 37th mayor.

Congratulations as well to the five new members of San Diego City Council, including Joe LaCava (District 1), Stephen Whitburn (District 3), Marni von Wilpert (District 5), Raul Campillo (District 7), and Sean Elo-Rivera (District 9).

We look forward to working with each of you as the city incorporates the Wildest wetland restoration proposal into a new plan for wetland restoration in the northeast corner of Mission Bay.

Over 25 years ago the city determined via the Mission Bay Park Master Plan (updated in 2002) that priority should be given to the restoration of native wetlands in Mission Bay in order to mitigate the effects of climate change, rising sea levels, restore habitat and species, sequester carbon, expand public access, enable greater equity, and ensure cleaner water in the bay.

We’ve included a pair of photos of our new mayor receiving a ReWild Mission Bay ballcap with County Supervisor Nathan Fletcher and 80th District Assemblymember Lorena Gonzalez, both taken by long-time Audubon photographer Craig Chaddock at Love Your Wetlands Day earlier this year.

We’ve also included a Greg Hoxsie photo of Mayor Gloria receiving a ReWild Mission Bay shirt from ReWild project manager and San Diego Audubon conservation director Andrew Meyer, and a photo posted by Mayor Gloria‘s campaign this summer of our new mayor picking up litter in Mission Hills while sporting his ReWild Mission Bay ballcap. Excellent fashion sense, Mr. Mayor!